FM Writes

FM Writes

All Fayetteville-Manlius School District teachers are responsible for the fidelity and implementation of the New York State Common Core Writing Standards (found below). F-M’s District Curriculum Council (DCC) has taken a close look at K-12 writing in all subject areas and has created the FM Writes initiative to further enhance and align writing throughout the district.

The goal of FM Writes is to guide writing instruction across content areas and to help teachers implement in their classrooms the new state writing standards. To assist teachers in infusing writing throughout their lessons, the district has created District Curriculum Maps, which contain the writing standards, instructional units and practices, resources, assessments and written examples. 

In addition, the DCC has created FM Writes rubrics (found below) to help teachers grade writing assignments consistently across the disciplines.  These rubrics are based upon NYS Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) for writing and are intended to be additional tools beneficial to teachers and students. 

Rubrics are helpful for assessment but should also be used as a communication tool.  The DCC developed and revised the FM Writes rubrics based upon K-12 staff input. Rubrics may be used at any grade level and in any content area. Teachers may use the rubric templates as is or they may choose to modify them or develop their own.  The templates that have been created are meant to be used to score writing pieces holistically.

DCC has developed resources to coincide with the writing rubrics to serve as additional supports for teachers. 

There is abundant writing instruction and assessment taking place throughout the district across all disciplines, and F-M has hosted a multitude of leaders in the area of writing across the curriculum, such as Lucy Calkins, Rachel Billmeyer, Harvey Daniels and Dr. Heidi Hayes Jacobs.

Many of the district’s current in-service course offerings are aligned with the goals of FM Writes.  They may be found on

District Curriculum Council Members:

Marcy Baker

Tom Bersani

Wendy Blasland

Stacey Bolton

Tim Burns

Deb Capri

Laurel Chiesa

Erin Concannon

Melissa Corbin

Mary Coughlin

Katie Feulner

Kelly Fletcher

Nicole Gamble

Jaclyn Gangloff

Ellen Haffar

Jonna Johnson

John Kennedy

Ray Kilmer

Ed Kupiec

Dina Kushnir

Eileen Lux

Maureen McCrystal

Carlos Mendez, Jr.

Andra Myers

April Myers

Mary Anne Silvernail

Ellen Tapley

Paula Wilcoxen

Tom Winiecki

Sharon Wisbey

Sarah Woodward-Jones




Related Files
    pdf "pdf file: You need Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5 or higher) to view this file. Download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader for PC or Macintosh."

The links in the area will let you leave the Fayetteville-Manlius School District site. The linked sites are not under control of the District and the District is not responsible for the contents of any linked site or any link contained in a linked site, or any changes or updates to such sites. The District is providing these links to you only as a convenience, and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement nor responsibility by the District of the content of the site.